NCA Names Future Leadership Program Class Of 2017

Washington, DC – Five young professionals have been selected for NCA’s 2017 Future Leadership Program, including an emerging entrepreneur, several individuals who work for storied confectionery manufacturers, and a rising confectionery broker.

The 2017 Future Leadership Program class is: Becca Mandru, Carlin Group; Kate McAleer, Bixby & Co.; Ross Rutherford, Star Brands North America; Caitlin Servian, Just Born, Inc.; and Anthony Trani, Topps Confections.

Launched in 2016 with support from the NCSA Candy Hall of Fame, the one-year program pairs the up-and-coming industry leaders with senior confectionery category stalwarts who will serve as  formal mentors. Program participants are hosted at the NCA’s State of the Industry Conference (March 6 to 8 in Miami), the Sweets & Snacks Expo (May 23 to 25), NCA’s Summer Board & Leadership Strategy Meeting (July 9 to 11 in Colorado Springs), the Washington Forum (September 12 to 13 in Washington DC) and the Candy Hall of Fame Induction Ceremony (October 13 to 15 in Tampa). 

“The Future Leadership Program aligns perfectly with NCA’s mission to advance the industry. The five young professionals selected will build knowledge and leadership skills while raising their visibility within the confectionery community,” says John Downs, NCA president and CEO. “Congratulations to the 2017 Future Leadership Program class, a diverse group of emerging leaders that will achieve great things for our industry.”

The Future Leadership program, managed by NCA’s Young Professionals Network Committee, is designed to provide support, education, access and opportunity to individuals within the confectionery industry who wish to advance into the ranks of leadership. The application process for the 2018 class will open in May.