Registration Opens For 2020 Candy Hall Of Fame Inductions

Graham Nice

Cleveland — The NCSA/Candy Hall of Fame has opened registration for the 2020 Candy Hall of Fame event, scheduled for October 23 to 25. The event honors 11 confectionery category leaders with the industry’s highest recognition, induction into the Candy Hall Fame on October 24, in Tampa, FL.

“Following recent events, we know the confectionery industry is anxious to get together,” says Mark Lozano, NCSA/Candy Hall of Fame president and vice-president of North American operations for SACMI Packaging & Chocolate. “At the same time, we recognize the current situation surrounding COVID-19 and the safety and security of our attendees is of the utmost importance to the NCSA Board of Directors and our staff. We will be exceeding all of the recommended precautions to ensure the comfort of our guests while celebrating the achievements of this stellar group.”

“The Candy Hall of Fame weekend is an event like no other in the industry,” confirms Joe Melville, NCSA/Candy Hall of Fame vice-president and chief growth officer for Green Rabbit. He confirms that while the Association plans to once again exceed expectations in 2020, it is working closely with the host hotel, the Tampa Renaissance International Plaza, and other partners to provide a best-in-class event while keeping attendees safe.

He points out: “Under current state-mandated guidelines we will have limited seating available in the main ballroom for the event. We are looking at options to allow more people to view the inductions both on-site and remotely, but we are encouraging early registration for those who want to be part of the celebration.”

The Candy Hall of Fame recognizes individuals who have dedicated their careers to giving back for the overall benefit of the confectionery industry. The following individuals will be inducted in 2020:

Michelle Frame, Victus Ars; Pam Gesford, The Hershey Co.; Deb Grenon, My Favorite Company, Inc.; Forrest Mars, Jr., Mars Wrigley Confectionery U.S. LLC (posthumous); Barry Phillips, SpartanNash Co.; Kurt Rosenberg, The Promotion In Motion Cos., Inc. (posthumous); Alan Scharhon, Halfon Candy Co.; Mark Schlott, R.M. Palmer Co.; David Shaffer, Just Born, Inc.; Douglas Simons, Enstrom Candies, Inc.;  and Robert Taylor, Burdette Beckmann Inc.